• Welcome!

We're a UK based community of cult entertainment fans - so whether you're into WWE, Marvel, DC, Game of Thrones, Walking Dead, Star Wars, Doctor Who, Star Trek and more - join us!

It's free to register, so why not sign up and discuss whatever you're into...

Legal Drama unfolding at my work

Zack T

Ratings
116 1
I work as an Administrative Assistant for the Federal Public Defender's office here in Oklahoma (That's USA you dang foreigners - I'm just kidding I love you). Just in case you're not familiar with what that means, we provide legal representation to folks who are charged with federal crimes and can't afford their own attorneys.

We have interesting cases come through reasonably often (One guy almost went to prison for selling turtles illegally in different states, thus making it federal juristiction), but right now we've got a case that has the potential to be a movie someday.

There's a small town in Oklahoma called Ada. Ada kind of operates like it's the wild west, they have their own idea of what the law is and generally enforce it however they want. There's been at least 1 documentary made on the corruption out there.

So anyway, this case in particular focuses on a woman who was murdered back in 1984 in Ada. Police get their guy, throw him in jail. Lots of problems with it, such as evidence going missing, interviews never happening or being improperly conducted, just real shady the whole way through. This guy sits in jail, claiming innocence, and tries for years to get documents sent to him or his attorney. But Ada never sends them anything.